There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do need music? Is the tranditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

In today’s modern world, music has evolved into an indispensable aspect of human life with various genres available for all age groups. My essay, therefore, will explore the underlying reasons for the necessity of music and state whether traditional music or international music is more crucial nowadays.

On the one hand, there are some valid reasons to explain why music has a critical role in today’s society. To begin with, music can be considered the most effective way to relax one’s mind regardless of age, gender, or race. For instance, young people are likely to dive into their own world by following the meaningful lyrics and catchy melody of pop songs whereas the old are addicted to traditional music to have a nostalgic feel. As a result, music can be seen as a pleasure and enjoyment for all groups of people to escape from daily stress and burden. Besides, an additional noteworthy strength of music lies in the preservation of cultural identity and heritage. Folk songs, for example, contain historical and traditional characteristics, which act as a bridge to connect past values and current life.

On the other hand, I believe that international music can outweigh traditional music for several reasons, especially in modern society. Firstly, it is essential to notice that international music can promote the local nation’s culture. To illustrate, K-pop songs have thrived into one of the most famous genres of music all over the world, which in turn attract a number of foreign fans to explore Korean tradition, learn the Korean language and visit Korea to immerse themselves in the culture. As such, music is not only a method to foster culture but also to boost the economy and create employment opportunities for many local people. Furthermore, international music undoubtedly plays a significant role in the globalization process in the modern world. Indeed, some large music concerts or festivals occur occasionally, providing an opportunity for music fans with the same preferred genres to unite without having to consider language barriers or differences in culture and religion.

In conclusion, music is undeniably becoming a part of human life owing to its benefits of emotion expression and culture preservation. Meanwhile, I believe that international music can have a greater influence on a country since it not only promotes the local culture and the economy but also contributes to the globalisation process.