There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do need music? Is the tranditional music of a country more important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

With the growing influence of music, it could be said that music has become an essential aspect of our life. Moreover, many genres and sub-genres of music have been developed to attract a wider audience. Among them, I personally believe traditional music is the most important genre.

It is widely recognised that music eases and calms our nervous system. This is scientifically proven; when our brain detects a melodious tune, it triggers a type of hormone responsible for making us feel pleasant, also known as dopamine. People who are diagnosed with ADHD usually report that listening to their favourite songs repetitively eases their chaotic thoughts and relaxes them. Furthermore, when nursing, mothers usually grow this tendency to hum to a tune or sing a lullaby when their babies are restless. Therefore, music is essential, from just relaxing our mind to soothing babies.

As more people become accustomed to listening to music on a daily basis, several music categories are starting to attract more audiences than established local music. I am convinced that this should be considered a threat to our cultural identity. The traditional music genre is increasingly underappreciated when compared to other genres such as pop, R & B, electronics, and so on. The main reason is that traditional music often tells a story and is more emotional than modern music. Most young people find this less appealing and sometimes even boring. However, the stories depicted in the traditional genre reflect our cultural origins and shared heritage as a society, which could be regarded as more valuable than other forms of music that focus on entertainment. For example, there is a song named “The rain that falls on Inle Lake” in Burmese traditional music. The song tells the story of a fisherman who relies on the Inle lake for a living. It covers a range of emotions he felt, from loneliness in the middle of the water to happiness after being reunited with his family at the end of day. Through this song, the new generations could look back on our country’s past and understand the struggles our ancestors experienced.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that music plays a significant role in regulating our emotions and is a necessity for every society, especially the traditional music genre, due to its ability to visualise the history and culture of past societies and it deserves to be more valued and appreciated.