There are now millions of cars on the road in most big cities. Pollution from cars is the most important problem that big cities face today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the development in the manufacturing of vehicles, there are a substantial number of cars on the highways in most major cities. While some people firmly argue that pollution from cars is the main pressing issue in cities, others strongly contend that there may be far more other critical problems, such as high crime rate, urban sprawl and the development of anti-social behavior among young people. In this essay, I will comprehensively shed light on the merits of both perspectives and explain why I completely agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, vehicles not only emit carbon dioxide but also release noise and lead to traffic congestion that some people believe is the most significant problem in large cities. To begin with, an alarming number of residents in these cities may contract several respiratory ailments at the expense of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, residents of Tashkent are developing these illnesses. Moreover, mortality rate can increase because of a great amount of private transport on roads that may lead to heavy traffic congestion and violation of the rules of traffic. For instance, drivers in Karshi region located in Uzbekistan often violate the regulations related to the speed limit. Furthermore, noise pollution can make people anxious and stressed. To explain, individuals in Termiz region of Uzbekistant acquire certain mental health complications because of the hustle and bustle of the city.

On the other hand, despite several detrimental effects of cars, there can be a number of other challenges that cosmopolitan cities face these days. The most critical problem is a rise in the crime rate that can cause residents to become anxious. To illustrate this point, residents of big cities are concerned about murdering, abduction and kidnapping. In addition, urban sprawl can be regarded as a huge problem since an increasing number of individuals move to cities on purpose of better living standards and employment opportunities. For instance, a great number of citizens of Uzbekistan are moving to Tashkent in search of better living conditions. Additionally, anti-social behavior among young individuals has emerged as one of the most enormous issues in multicultural cities, meaning that they do not pay respect to the elderly, do change their dressing style, and do cause bullying and discrimination, potentially leading to a growth in juvenile crime. For example, the rate of juvenile crime is going up in many urban cities of Uzbekistan.

In conclusion, it is true that traffic congestion, air and noise pollution which cars cause is a tremendous problem that major cities face these days. However, there may be a lot of other critical issues, for instance urbanization, high crime rate and a negative change in young people’s behavior. Hence, I fully agree with the latter view.