There are now millions of cars on the road in most big cities. Pollution from cars is the most important problem that big cities face today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the development in the manufacturing of vehicles, there are a substantial number of cars on the highways in most major cities. While some people firmly argue that pollution from cars is the solely pressing issue in cities, others strongly contend that there may be far more other critical problems, such as high crime rate, urban sprawl and the development of anti-social behavior among young people. In this essay, I will comprehensively shed light in the merits of both perspectives and explain why I completely agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, vehicles not only emit carbon dioxide but also release noise and leads to traffic congestion that some people believe that it is the most significant problem in large cities. To begin with, an alarming number of residents in these cities may contract several respiratory ailments at the expense of greenhouse gas emissions. For example, residents of Tashkent are developing these illnesses. Moreover, mortality rate can increase because of a great number of private transports on roads that may lead to heavy traffic congestion and violation in the rules of traffic. For instance, drivers in Karshi often violate the regulation related to speed limit. Furthermore, noise pollution can bring about people to have anxiety and stress. To explain, individuals in Termiz acquire certain mental health complications because of hustle and bustle of the city.

On the other hand, despite several detrimental effects of cars, there can be a number of other challenges that cosmopolitan cities face these days. The most critical problem is a rise in crime rate that it can oblige residents to become anxious. To illustrate this point, residents of big cities are concerned about murdering, abduction and kidnapping. In addition, urban sprawl can be regarded as a huge problem that in increasing number of individuals move to cities on purpose of better living standards and employment opportunity. For instance, a great number of citizens of Uzbekistan are moving to Tashkent in search of better living conditions. Additionally, anti-social behavior among young individuals has emerged as a one of the most enormous issue in multicultural cities, meaning that they do not pay respect the elderly, do change dressing style, and do cause bullying and discrimination, potentially leading to a growth in juvenile crime. For example, the rate of juvenile crime is going up in Samarkand.

In conclusion, it is true that traffic congestion, air and noise pollution which cars cause to appear is a tremendous problem that major cities face these days. However, there may be a lot of other critical issues, for instance urbanization, high crime rate and a negative change among young people’s behavior. Hence, I fully agree with the latter view.