There are two opposing views on whether university students should be free to choose their own subjects or whether they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

Many believe that university students should be given freedom to select the courses of their likings. However, others disagree and think that they should only be provided science and technology linked subjects which can secure their future. I believe that it should totally depend on their will and pick whatever they want to study.

Some insist that letting the students choose their own curriculum is best thing to do. This is largely because they can focus more, enjoy reading and generate more curiosity to learn when they choose their favorite programme. For example, if a pupil who really loves drawing choose the art subject, he will be very happy and keen to learn more and might score a very good grade. In my view, students should be left on their own to decide whatever they want to pursue.

Conversely, some assume that it is more better if students strive for science and technology affiliated courses for their future. In this modern world, there is a relatively competitive market for science and technology related jobs. Additionally, company pays significantly high amount of salary to the workers related to that job. For instance, the employees and scientists of NASA, their wages are relatively high compared to other basic companies jobholders. Although, I believe it provides a great opportunities for students in future, but still letting them pave their own path is the right thing to do.

In conclusion, there is debate about whether university pupils should be allowed to pick their own courses or if they should only take science and technology associated courses. From my perspective, giving them free will to make their own decision on what they want to choose makes them perform more better in their study.