There is a disagreement on the impact of increased business and culture contact between countries on a country's identity. What is your opinion?

As the world enters the globalization, people start to question the repercussions of international trade and culture integration on a country’s identity as it is feared that the prevalence of exotic cultures can degrade the position of local values. However, globalization in business and culture bring numerous positive implications on the local communities, especially in improving their life and promoting their countries’ traditional features.

Nowadays, as people are exposed to other traditions, their living quality increases. In doing so, they become global citizens and gain more knowledge of the world surrounding. As people are open-minded, they are less likely to encounter unwanted conflicts or misunderstanding. Also, the ability to work together form firm business relationship, which in turn boost the economy and the life quality in local areas. Furthermore, the more educated people will see more value in local practices and relinquished dated ones.

The other advantage of increased business and social contact with other countries is that the local culture and belief are promoted and preserved. Contrary to popular belief, a strong economy allows government to invest more attention and resources to the cultural and historical preservation. Moreover, a close friendship between countries give space for each culture to be recognized and thriving, since the culture exchange works both ways for them. The popularity of foreign trade and social contact do not necessary compromise the local features. My teacher is an example of a harmony between tradition and modern values. In stead of bestowing entire Vietnamese practices, she is abled to explore those at a deeper level and weighing the pros and cons; after that, she still adheres to her valuable traditions but also works to reduce the carbon footprint.

Although these local values are not easily swept by increased foreign exchange, it is prone to destruction by youngsters. The young are tempted to see values at face level, so they are likely to be affected by exotic and mainstream cultures. This is the only soft point of a nation when it is introduced to a variety of foreign countries.

In conclusion, a country mostly benefits its living standards and culture by becoming internationally open; yet, it needs to be wary of the less culturally experienced people as they are likely to uproot their culture.