There is increasing pressure to ban smoking in all public areas as well as inside public buildings such as offices and restaurants. However many smokers claim that is an infringement on their rights. What are the arguments for and against banning smoking in all public areas?

In today’s world, smoking is a controversial issue with the vast majority of people calling for a ban on smoking in both indoor and public areas. From my standpoint, even though such a move would bring numerous advantages to society, some individuals might see it as an unacceptable and unfair prohibition. In this essay, I will explain the reasons why I firmly believe urging authorities to ban smoking in public should be prioritized as well as provide an argument against the ban.

To begin with, it is undeniable that smoking should not be banned as it is an individual right of the people to pursue pleasures. A smoking ban poses excessive restrictions on personal freedoms, triggering displeasure among smokers to the organization that imposes such a law. As a consequence, there is a strong possibility that it can cause negative reactions, such as large scale protests, which lead to violence in society. Yet, the banning of smoking can lead to a rising number of gangsters and drug dealers who do these illegal activities, which are difficult to regulate later on. However, smoking rights should be fair with the public health and regulations to ensure a balanced method for both sides.

On the contrary, there are plenty of issues posed by tobacco usage that deserve to be banned. The primary reason is that it is detrimental to health. This can be seen when cigarette users suffer from ailments, including lung disease and eventually cancer. According to studies, tobacco smoking has negative consequences on brain development, particularly in young adults, decreasing the level of intelligence. Apart from that, second-hand smokers or even children are affected by harmful fumes by individuals who smoke in public areas, such as restaurants. Thus, it is a moral obligation for smokers to be responsible for deleterious effects on non-smokers, regarding a sense of manners.

In conclusion, although smoking is a popular habit for many people and there are some ethical considerations, it is deleterious for both the smokers and the people around them. Therefore, even though smokers do have rights as argued, it is more important to prevent a great deal of health issues arising from tobacco usage.