These days consumers are faced with an increasing amount of advertising from various companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertising? What measures should be taken to protect them?

There is a growing trend where in recent decades; individuals are increasingly subjected to a growing volume of advertisements from a diverse range of companies. While this can be largely attributed to celebrity influence and misleading or exaggerated claims, I believe it serves as a double-edge sword and the problem can be effectively addressed by implementing stricter government regulations.

In a world dominated by misleading marketing campaigns, companies divert the way of understanding. With the increasing frequency of using celebrity endorsements to attract mass consumers and misleading information that exaggerates a product’s quality, people are often snared and manipulated to purchase excessive products. Consequently, people may trust these figures, which encourages buying unnecessary items on the trend, resulting overconsumption and diving into debt. This is exemplified by lawsuit faced by L’Oréal for exaggerating the effectiveness of its skincare products in advertisements. Such misleading claims created unrealistic expectations within customers, leading them to spend money on products that did not deliver the promised results.

On the other hand, it does not only foster economic growth but also enables the public to capitalize on the ads by promoting social awareness. First of all, advertising drives sales and allows executives to offer wide range products in a fraction of an hour, creating job opportunities for the unemployed population. Beside reinvigorating the economy and creating jobs, it increases public consciousness by running public service campaigns on critical issues such health, environmental protection, and road safety. For example, the World Health Organization try to prevent serious health issues by illustrating real-life stories create fear and awareness, encourage people to quit bad habits, such as smoking and consuming fast-food.

To address the growing concern of deceptive advertisement, it is imperative for the government to take a decisive action by establishing rigorous laws. Given that customers are fascinated by celebrity endorsements which exaggerate product’s benefits, implementing precautionary measurements will counteract this by giving punishment. To ensure its effectiveness, governments complement legal enforcements with strong regulatory policies and active monitoring. Take the UK as an example; the Federal Trade Commission actively enforces laws against misleading advertisements, which withstands exaggerated claims and undisclosed celebrity endorsements, demonstrating how strict policies and legal enforcement can protect consumers from being misled.

In conclusion, although advertisements can impact on people negatively, it can bring financial benefits for both society and population. With applying stricter control, the government can protect its residents from deception.