These days, many films and pieces of music are free online. Is this a positive or negative development? Write your reasons and use examples from your experience.

In recent years, there has been considerable debate about the fact that many creative works such as films and music have become easily accessible. Some people believe that such a development potentially results in overconsumption and discourages creativity, while others contend that it is not necessarily true and this trend possesses more merits than demerits. I hold the opinion that this is a positive phenomenon, with my view reinforced in this essay.

To begin with, I would like to look at the situation from the perspective of stakeholders who view this trend as negative. It is irrefutable that there are numerous downsides that cannot be ignored. To draw an example, overconsumption often leads to dissatisfaction and makes us perceive everything surrounding us more lethargically, making cinematic or art works look nothing but dull in our eyes. Moreover, the ubiquitousness of artistic pieces has made it harder for artists to find their own audience, as nowadays the general public is oversaturated with a plethora of content, which puts less renowned authors at risk, as well as their livelihoods.

However, I personally do not view this phenomenon as something inherently negative. Even though the ramifications for both sides still exist, I believe that this trend has given us more advantages than negative experiences. The contemporary domains of information are engrossing and all-consuming, and the fact that it is not off-limits even for low-income families is something to be proud of. As an example, with the amount of both scientific and creative work that can be found online, the young generation gets much more insights into the world and society. In the last few decades, the advent of the internet has made young people more aware of themselves, which helps protect them from criminal offenses by strangers.

After taking into consideration all the points made above, while the phenomenon of easy consumption has its own negative consequences, I maintain that the potential positive outcomes much outweigh the disadvantages. In my opinion, this development helps us to raise a more conscious and knowledgeable generation, which is crucial for our society and its well-being.