To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

It is thought that social media platforms effects negatively on humanity. However, I completely disagree with it as believe that social networks have a positive impact on our lives by creating new opportunities for businesses and improving networking.

Social media aids entrepreneurs as it can be served as a tool for promoting business. Although business is perceived to be highly difficult sphere to develop there, social networks facilitate the process of advertising it. Social media can assist people with creating a fully functional online shop that can make nearly as much as a real-life shop. For example, Instagram is used as one of the features of e-commerce because it provides all primitive functions such as advertisement the shop or conversation with customers.

Social awareness is also one of the benefits induced by social networks. This feature connects people around the world, despite of their background. For people who work a substantial amount of time every day it is a laborious task to communicate with people or find new friends. Therefore, social media can easily foster the acquaintance with new faces, at the same time, not requiring additional time to search for them in real life. Specifically, the group of researchers has stated that in 2023 around 60% of people in US had friends with whom they got acquainted through Facebook and Instagram.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that the impact of social media is adverse, because it provides a myriad of opportunities for entrepreneurs, as well as for those who want to meet people by finding them through social networks.