To what extent do you agree with this statement: 'Social media has had a negative impact on society.'

Many think that social media has a deleterious influence on society. I agree with this point because in the current generation there is a reduction in face-to-face conversations, an increase in cyberbullying and poor mental well-being.

On one hand, social media can be a tool for change. It can reach a large audience in a limited amount of time. It can be used as a catalyst to bring together mankind during times of need such as wars, calamities, etc. Moreover, it could also be used to spread positivity with people around the world and educating them as well. Furthermore, it can be an effective marketing tool for businesses and social causes.

On the other hand, it can be quite detrimental to society. With social media designed to be as addictive as possible, youngsters tend to spend more time on their devices and end up preferring texting over face-to-face communication. Moreover, with the increase of users, there occurs a rise in the amount of cyber crimes. Cyber crimes can often lead people to making bad life choices, losing monetary possessions and may also affect mental health. Along with this, social media illustrates a perfect utopian life and creates unattainable living standards which often make people disappointed with their life and looks leading to further insecurity and worsened mental well-being. Not only that, but also social media sometimes promotes dangerous and unhealthy habits and mindsets thus influencing the youth to choose a wrong path and ultimately destroying their life.

In conclusion, social media can be both a boon or a bane depending on how we consume it. Hence, it becomes essential to use it responsibly so as to maintain a balance between its advantages and disadvantages.