Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

In recent years, there has been no denying the fact that leisure activities play a vital role in individuals’ lives. Therefore, shopping is one of the main forms of entertainment for young people. However, there is also an argument that opposes this view. In my opinion, I believe this is a negative development, although there are some benefits.

To begin with, nowadays, there are numerous activities that help individuals develop and advance. In addition, adulthood is an important period of life; therefore, society should create entertainment places that enable individuals to acquire practical and professional skills. Shopping centers are one of recreational forms that have limitations on activities, especially for young adults. They are designed for commercial activity rather than recreational purposes. For example, a recent study revealed that reduction in leisure activities may contribute to increasing physical and mental health problems among younger people.

On the other hand, there are many developing countries that lack the ability to expand activity facilities for their citizens. Therefore, shopping is considered a main area for leisure activities. In addition, shopping centers now provide many facilities, such as café and electronic games. Hence, shopping is a unique method that contributes to changing people’s lifestyles and increasing entertainment.

In conclusion, despite people having different views, on balance, I firmly believe that adulthood is a crucial phase that helps individuals to improve themselves. Therefore, governments and authorities should provide many activities areas that are suitable for adults, such as libraries and educational institutions.