Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

In the contemporary world, a considerable number of youngsters prefer shopping as their spare-time activity. Due to emerging technological advancements, and online platforms make it possible for young people to purchase whatever goods they want. This essay will explore the reasons behind this and suggest possible alternative leisure-time options for youngsters.

Firstly, several social media apps, and Android phones highly influence on young people’s behavior. Nowadays, young people’s getting addiction to smart phones is significantly increasing, and they spend a huge amount of time on social media and apps. Moreover, companies have been employing different strategies to attract young customers with greater offers, discounts and the way they showcase their advertisements. For example, in advertisements, famous sportsmen, and actors advertise products which highly inspires the young generation. As a result, they purchase things through online and offline shopping.

Secondly, many leisure-time activities are available. Particularly, allocating time with family members and gardening are great choices. Involving oneself in house- hold chores and deep conversations with family members builds strong relationships and improves one’s sense of satisfaction in life. Gardening is also valuable leisure-time activity; it provides calm and helps youngsters focus on their studies with a fresh mind. Consequently, this may enhance overall academic performance.

In summary, neglecting unnecessary shopping and guiding youth in a good way will benefit them. Raising awareness of social media apps and their consequences is one of the primary options.