International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Many regions are benefited from the advancement of mass international tourism; however, this is also accompanied by numerous of negativities on local residents and the environment. Personally, I believe the positive factors of the tourism movement far overshadow its drawbacks.

Critics of international tourism argue that this phenomenon fosters difficulties on not only the local inhabitants but also the natural environment. In terms of the locals, the development of tourism can greatly influence regional businesses to alter their trajectories, from traditional customs to commercialize-focus industry, which puts traditional artisans out of work. Additionally, the environment also suffers from such a movement, as the amount of litter increases due to reckless leftover by low-awareness visitors. Even more severely, the expansion of urbanization also deteriorates the natural habitats of the region. A typical example of this is Dalat, a famous mountainous city in Vietnam, well-known for its tranquil nature, picturesque beauty and traditional customs. However, due to its success in tourism, local authorities and businesses started to shift its core, beginning to construct more and more accommodations and entertaining facilities. This proceeds to the stage when it concretizes the entire center, sacrificing its nature beauty and residents’ safety.

On the other hand, I am more convinced that international tourism brings more significant benefits. Firstly, it creates more career prosperities to local inhabitants. Instead of being restricted in professional options or having to carry on family traditional businesses, local individuals now can take on new jobs related to hospitality and services, attaining higher income. Additionally, revenue from tourism can be allocated to environmental maintenance and advancement to enhance the locals’ living standard and tourists’ experience. An example of a successful tourism industry is Japan, which is able to sustain its success in tourism, balancing advancing hospitality and maintaining natural environment to ensure tourists to revisit in the future.

In conclusion, despite many beliefs international tourism detrimental factors being more significant, I, however, disregard this and believe such a tourism movement yields more noticeable advantages, as it cultivates more occupation opportunities and additional income to continuing improving the industry and local living experiences. However, to achieve sustainable success, governments and authorities ought to plan carefully so as to not vitalizing commercial goals over environmental & local well-being.