International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

It is undeniable that international tourism has become a significant source of domestic revenue. Though it can negatively affect the environment, I believe that it has more benefits than drawbacks if countries can properly manage it.

On the one hand, the main disadvantage of international tourism is that it affects the ecology drastically. Tourism development results in the construction of an increasing number of hotels, extended accommodation, restaurants, and recreational activities for the foreign guests. These developments are prepared by chopping down forest areas and harming the natural habitat, which deteriorates local biodiversity. Moreover, offering the guests recreational facilities and palatable food contributes to a huge amount of waste that is particularly visible in beach areas. For instance, popular seaside beaches around the globe are seen as congested with a huge amount of waste materials. Recently, in Bangladesh, the concerned authority has collected a pile of five tons of single-use plastic materials.

However, international guests contribute to economic growth in host countries. To embrace the guests, the government and concerned authorities are supposed to develop accommodation facilities and other facilities where tourists spend their money. This results in an escalation of the overall turnover of the country. In addition, sectors such as hotels, restaurants, and transportation employ local people. Thus, local residents are employed in those sectors. Moreover, the government develop some infrastructure: airports, expressways, and railways. These establishments benefit not only the tourists but also the citizens.

In conclusion, international tourism has a downside, such as affecting the environment. Its overall advantages, however, such as economic growth and job creation for the residents, definitely outweigh its drawbacks.