In many countries, bicycles are becoming more popular than cars for commuting. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive development?

Current studies show that modern individuals are choosing bicycles for daily travel such as for going to work or school instead of other vehicles. In my opinion, although bicycles have some limitations namely for long distances, in bad weather, they have many benefits like fewer costs, positives for human health.

One of the main reason is cost. It is true that cars are very expensive because of insurance, fuel, and replacing some parts after some years, whereas bicycles are far more profitable, as they rarely have such issues. Instead, they just need human energy in many cases.

Another advantage of this is health. Contrary to other vehicles, cycling is a form of exercise. If people continue using them for their daily lives, they might tackle many diseases. For instance, heart attack or a large number of cancers are due to laziness or little labor. In the past, rarely majority of people face with that problem, as they never had other vehicles except bicycles. However, many modern people spend their most of the time on chairs or beds and go even 100-meter distant places with their cars.

On the other hand, it is crucial to remember that cycling may not be comfortable or safe for long journeys or unsafe roads. Still some rural areas have not been fully developed yet. Thus, they might be inconvenient for cyclists for their holes or pits.

In conclusion, cycling is becoming increasingly popular for short-distance journeys. I strongly believe it is a positive improvement, albeit it has some drawbacks.