In many countries, bicycles are becoming more popular than cars for commuting. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive development?

In many countries, bicycles have become the most common form of transport to travel to work. I firmly believe this shift constitutes a largely positive development. Chiefly due to its contribution to minimize environmental problems and promote a healthy lifestyle.

One of such significant advantages is improved heath. Those people who prefer commuting to work by bicycles, are more likely to lead an active lifestyle. This results in better immune system and overall wellbeing. For instance, people with heavy schedules and demanding working hours often struggle to balance a healthy lifestyle. However, adapting cycling as a primary commuting method can be both healthy and enjoying experiences. Without these opportunities to lead a less sedentary way of life, people might struggle with healthy disease due to lack of physical activities, thus resulting in obesity and chronic illnesses.

Furthermore, bicycles serve as a vital catalyst for reducing environmental issues. Traditional cars are major contributors of environmental dehydration and pollution as they release toxic gases and emissions, which damage the soil and pollute the atmosphere. According to imperial science, transports contribute 15% of total global emissions. This means encouraging individuals to use bicycles frequently and rising the numbers of it is the wise choice to mitigate the environmental problems.

To conclude, with the rise of people who travel to work on bicycles rather than private cats and public transportation is due to keep a balanced lifestyle and reduce the numbers of environment related issues.