Some people believe that animals should not be kept in zoos as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that in the 21st century there is not any necessity of keeping animals in zoos. I fully agree with this statement because of technological improvements and ethical requirements.

Firstly, I believe that considering the current level of technological and science development people can learn about animals much more through documentaries instead of going to zoos. There are huge amount of materials including documentaries, videos, vlogs on the internet where you can get a lot of information about various animals. I strongly believe that learning about animals especially wild ones by watching them in their natural habitat is more useful and entertaining than by just watching them in cages. For example many safari trips are being organized now and people can observe them in natural and real conditions. That’s why in the 21st century we don’t need to visit zoos because of modern and more effective alternatives to them.

The other main reason why zoos are considered unnecessary is that this idea is against the ethic and humanity norms. Animals in zoos are kept in unnatural conditions with restricted space which can lead to psychological stress. Different species of animals need relevant conditions for living and nature therefore we can’t provide it in just one country and small space. In addition the legal system is changing and improving day by day and animals’ rights getting more tendency. For example some countries as Germany already admitted animals’ rights at the level of law. They have the right for freedom from violence, right for protection and humanity, however zoos can’t fully provide those rights.

To conclude in the 21st century there is no need for zoos because animals’ lives matter.