Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

One prominent issue of the 21st century is youngster’s free time activity. So, shopping had gained traction among people, especially adolescents. While this entails certain problems, a set of counter-measures can be set in place.

One major reason associated with this issue is teenager’s engagement in shopping. This is because this type of activity does not require any kind of thinking and problem solution skills. Compared to studying and language learning, shopping could act as a form of relaxation and unwinding. Many young people, mainly females, are keen on shopping, because a person can buy different things as clothes, shoes, and other essentials. It results in better mood, high dopamine and sense of enjoyment. Another reason is having a great deal of spare time. This happens when an adolescent does not attend extra lessons and curriculum. Due to this, there will be much leisure time, which many young people might not know how to spend. As a result, young people go out, go for shoppings with the group of close-knit friends. Hence, both spare time and the sense occurring after shopping can be excellent reasons of the popularity of shopping among youngsters.

Furthermore, in my opinion, grown-ups need to be encouraged to do other types of activities rather than shopping. First, learning activities play a paramount role in young people’s development. A great example of this is language learning. This not only opens up new career and travelling opportunities, but also improves brain function, delay and memory. Other examples of learning activities could be mastering a particular subject, or even science. Secondly, physical activities also need to be added into the category. It might be based on a person’s individual preferences and interests, such as team or individual sports, attending gym, yoga, pilates and other kinds of classes. It is useful for the immune, cardiovascular system and mental well-being. Consequently, each young individual will benefit from other activities in numerous ways.

To conclude, leisure time activity of young people remains one of the most significant dilemmas of the modern age. However, by understanding its causes and trying to have quality time by engaging in self-developing activities, everyone could have been benefited from that.