Today, in many countries, younger people do not interact with older people as often as they used to. What are the reasons for this? How can we improve this situation?

Nowadays, there are numerous social challenges in society, chief among which is the lack of communication between the younger and older generations. This is largely due to the rapid advancements in technology and an excessive focus on work. Nevertheless, this issue could be addressed by the intervention of governments and communities.

There are several reasons why the generation gap between elderly people and the younger generation has expanded over the years. The main reason is that driven by the development of technology, the youth spend a considerable amount of time scrolling through social media. This is because persuasive and attractive content is widely available on the Internet. As a result, young individuals become addicted to using these platforms in every aspect of their lives. This, in turn, attracts many other individuals to be over-reliant on smartphones and computers regularly, thereby undermining relationships. Secondly, more often than not young adults working relentlessly face challenges in allocating time to contact with seniors. If they have an excessive workload, they cannot strike a balance between the work and family life. As a consequence, they feel extremely exhausted after working hard, leaving them with little energy to communicate with older family members

Although this issue is getting worse rapidly, with the support of the government and personal responsibility it can be addressed. As an illustration, if authorities organize volunteer activities for both younger and older generations, social bonds may be strengthened. Furthermore, every smartphone user should limit their screen time in order to improve their communication skills with adults. Take Kokand as an example, the council usually promote volunteer events to bring the gap between generations. Thus, this city is one of the close-knit areas in Central Asia.

Taking everything into account, this situation leads to serious social problems. Despite the potential threats, if governments and local communities pay attention to this matter, it may be alleviated in the long run.