Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

Nowadays, a lot of citizens who live within the city are not very familiar with their neighbors. Although this may lead to many problems in the community, it can still be prevented by providing community integration activities.

Arguably, not getting acquainted with your neighbors may have a lot of drawbacks. Firstly, because of the threat it provides to society. Not knowing who lives next door may result in unnecessary anxiety and trust issues. For instance, your mind may not be at ease when you leave your door open and forget to lock it. This is exactly opposite when you know who you are living in the community with.

Another problem that may arise is during emergency situations. It will be difficult to ask for help if you are unfamiliar with the people around you. For example, during the war in Ukraine, if you do not know your neighbors that well, you will find it hard to trust them,and as a result, it will automatically put your life at risk.

This issue can be addressed by conducting programs that may unite the neighborhood. For example, governments should outline activities that require team effort, such as planting trees, proper waste segregation, free health screening, and other team-building-related activities. If these programs can be done, it can unite not only the families in the neighborhood but the community as a whole.

In conclusion, not knowing who lives next door may pose a threat to the community, primarily because of the insecurity and fears of the people. Although it may require a lot of effort to prevent, this can be addressed by providing community activities.