Today, many people do not know their neighbors. Why is this? What can be done about this?

These days, there are many people who live like strangers in their neighbourhood. From my viewpoint, developed technology and busy lifestyle are the main reasons of this, while organizing some social events as well as educating people about the value of their neighbourhood relationships could be the most optimal solutions.

The primary reason of this situation can be related to technology with its emerging opportunities . In comparison with the past, neighbours used to socialize with one another when they had free time but today social media is occupying vast majority of person’s time. Telegram might be a bright example of this, since it enables people to send both video messages and pictures which can inform about their daily life. Secondly, busy lifestyle is another reason of this trend because currently almost everybody is hectic with their study or work. For example, as fixed hours are from 8 am to 6 pm, 10 hours are allocated to the work itself, and the rest of their time should be spent on family gatherings.

To tackle this issue, the head of the neighbourhood should be responsible for organizing special parties on holidays. For example, there is a national holiday of Uzbekistan which is called Navruz, in this event people should cook traditional foods and entertaining activities together, by these ways, it may be possible to form connections between neighbours. Furthermore, government ought to educate the population about the importance of neighbourhood by conducting regular face-to-face meetings. There should be a purpose of solving problems of people who have financial difficulties and relationship ones. If the whole neighbourhood is involved in this process, as a result, people living in the same neighbourhood may tie close bonds with each other.

By way of conclusion, although advancements in technology and long working hours are barriers for getting on well with neighbours, there are still some ways to solve it with organizing communal activities and educational classes.