Today many teenagers rely greatly on technology when learning. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, adolescents depend heavily on digital tools while acquiring new information. I believe despite the possible distractions which can be effortlessly addressed, this shift holds numerous benefits namely the wider as well as more accessible sources.

First and foremost, while working with digital devices ranging from smart phones to tablets and laptops, teenagers are likely to get distracted by non-stop buzzing of notifications, pop-up ads, and more. Thus, their learning process will be interrupted. Yet, this can be easily tackled by the use of some applications designed to serve this purpose or simply by putting your phone in “Focus mode”.

Nonetheless, information era has provided young people with the chance to pursue an unlimited number of subjects that they find enticing on the Internet. Additionally, based on their learning type like auditory, visual, and so on, people from the mentioned group are now able to seek the sources which suits their learning style the best. These factors contribute to greater opportunities for the curious minds of youngsters to go beyond the knowledge of their teachers or the finite number of the books they can lay hands on.

Furthermore, the information can now be accessed more conveniently and quickly than ever in humans history. For instance, the youth, rather than spending time and money to purchase paper books, can now have PDF files of them on their gadgets with some clicks. As the amount of time spent on finding information is almost next to nothing, those in their teen years have more time on their hands to educate themselves in their desired subjects.

In conclusion, those in their adolescence are significantly reliant on the technology regarding their education and it can cause them some addressable disturbances. However, I think the convenience and spare time it brings along justifies their over-reliance making this phenomenon a beneficial development in core.