Today many teenagers rely greatly on technology when learning. Is this a positive or negative development?

In this era of technology being more advanced day by day, daily tasks are more dependent on devices and gadgets. This usage of technology is more prominently seen by teenagers especially when it comes to their education. Some people might say it will distract them from studying saying it will cause more harm than good and some say otherwise. Does this reliance on technology have a positive or negative effect on teenagers ?

First and foremost, teenagers are more interested when learning via laptops or ipads due to the fact that any information is at the tips of their fingertips. For example, Youtube, a famous video sharing platform, is useful for teenagers to understand more deeply a topic they have learned at school. Hence, making them master the topic easily and remotely.

Other than that, most teenagers find studying via gadgets is more engaging with gamified learning apps like Quizziz and Kahoot.To illustrate, after learning the topic on Youtube or after a lecture, the student can test their knowledge by doing an online test.Another example is that, they can create flash cards so that they can recall the previous lessons easier. Then from there, they can analyze which part of the topic they are weak in. Thus, students are able to be prepared for future tests in schools.

Apart from these positive impacts, there is a big setback of teens relying on gadgets. That teens will lack problem solving and critical thinking skills. Since students can swiftly find solutions online.They might not develop the skill to think independently. This dependence can totally hinder a student’s creativity and intellectual curiosity.

To sum up, technology has undoubtedly improved the learning experience for students by making mastering and understanding topics more accessible and engaging. However, excessive dependence and reliance on technology can negatively impact creativity and innovative thinking for teens. Therefore, there must be a balance for conventional and new school learning styles to ensure we teens get the best of both worlds.