Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

In today’s rapidly changing world, gaining weight and being fat are significant issues for people around the world. These problems can be a result of many factors, such as overconsumption of fast food, engaging in sedentary activities, and so on. This essay will address the main causes and their effects on individuals lives.

Initially, these days, due to people’s hectic lifestyles, they pay less attention to what they eat and they just eat the food that is convenient and is made fast. Moreover, industrial agriculture is another reason behind these crises. In developed and overpopulated countries, governments tend to meet the population’s demands, so they have to keep the pace and increase the amount of agricultural products by using technology. This technological interference in the agricultural system can result in a diminished amount of organic products. As a result of studies, only 11.5% of supermarket supplies are made from organic ingredients.

Secondly, most individuals spend their time working, so there is no time left for exercising and participating in physical activities. Even worse, employees commute to their workplaces by motorized vehicles, and only a few people use to cycle or walk to their offices. Of course, this is another main reason for obesity. The most common type of activities that people participate in are intellectual activities, which do not require physical movement. Despite its benefits for the brain, it offers various issues for the body.

This epidemic can have several harmful effects on individuals, such as decreased health rates and mental diseases. Overweight and obesity are the main reasons for heart problems and can even result in heart attacks, consequently increasing the rate of death among adults. In addition, obesity can lead to mental problems too, because many fat people do not have enough self-confidence to interact with others in society, which is the main reason for an individual’s isolation.

In conclusion, the trend of gaining weight should be controlled by establishing strict rules and encouraging people to lose weight. It is also important to inform people of the consequences of obesity.