Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done?

It is common when older people live longer after being retired from work. I believe that this phenomenon leads to distributing a lot of money for retirees instead of investing it in healthcare or welfare programs. The government can prolong the retirement age of workers in order to solve this issue.

One of the main problems that this phenomenon causes is that the government must distribute most of their finances to retirees, this is called pension. When people retire from work, then the government must pay a pension for them in order to provide their needs instead of investing this money in human welfare programs and healthcare, or other useful projects, which contributes to people’s standard of living quality. The more people retire from work, the less chance of government spending for programs that improve people’s quality of life quality. For example, in India, where most of population is older people, individuals live in bad conditions and often complain to the government.

The main solution for this problem is that the government should implement new legislation that prolongs the retirement age of workers. When people work longer time, the government will pay less money for older people and have a chance to spend it on improving people’s living conditions. For example, in China and other developed countries, most people work longer period compared to other developing countries, correspondingly other nation’s people living in developed countries often praise their living conditions. Hence the reason why the government should increase the working time of workers is to contribute to improvements in human welfare.

In conclusion, I believe the main issue when retired people live longer is that it disables the government to fund it into other fields that are way more important than providing unemployment payments for retirees. In order to solve this issue, new legislations are needed to prolong their working periods.