Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done?

In this day and age, life expectancy has increased, meaning that peple spend more years in retirement. This trend creates several problems for both individuals and society and needs appropriate measures to address.

This tendency is not only creates financial pressure on individuals but it also place a tremendous strain on the government. Begin with the former, retirees have to depend on their limited pensions and savings so living longer means they might outlive their financial resources and struggle with making ends meet or afford long-term medical care. This trend reduces their quality of life along with the increasing fiscal anxiety, leading to the decline in elderly people’s mental health which higher healthcare demand on government. Indeed, governments face pressure to provide eldercare services, being translated to higher taxes on working population that can cause conflicts among citizens. For example, in many developed countries, public pension systems are under strain because fewer young workers contribute.

To address this problem, action from governments is important as they have the greatest influence. Firstly, government can encourage flexible and later retirement by raising retirement ages gradually and promoting part-time work for senior to provide additional income for retirees. To be more reasonable, they can facilitate for older worker through reducing working hours or offer them with advisory or mentoring roles which are suitable with their health. Secondlly, improving retirement planning and healthcare support is essential as it ensure sustainable life. Government should educate workers about long-term finanical planning by organizing pre-retirement finanical education programs, which help people be more conscious of retirement plan.

In conclusion, longer retirements place finanical difficulties on individuals and pressure on public resources. Nevertherless, tackling this pressing issue effectively requires active ageing initiatives and better financial programs organized by government.