Some schools teach school children to study international news. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been considerable debate over whether incooperating international news into curriculum brings more benefits or drawbacks. In my opinion, the advantages clearly surpass the disadvantages

On the one hand, there are several drawbacks of teaching children international news . One noticeable disadvantage is that it can be overwhelming for some students. Balancing between many subjects are significantly difficult for students, so adding global news into lessons probably makes learning become more complex and harder for students, especially for below average studentsThis is because world news can sometimes be extremely complex or confusing that students from early grades cannot fully understand. As a result, they may find bored or reluctant to gain new knowledge, leading them to lose their interest in learning and have badly academic perfomances. However, this issue can be easily solved if teachers carefully prepare age-approtiate news for students.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that the advantages are more significant. One clear advantage is that it enables students broaden their knowledge about the global issues. For instance, students who learn in international economics or international bussiness undoubtedly have a better understanding about diverse culture, social and political issues and so on. Moreover, these global information not only broaden students’ knowledge about the world but also develop their perspectives about issues. As a result, they can become more mature and have more informed-decision when facing problems in life. Another benefit of stuying international news is that it can forster empathy and global citizenship. For example, news about wars among countries often indicate a large number of people being homeless or dying of hunger and thirst, animals losing their habitats and so on. These images and figures can easily arouse students’ compassion and sympathy. -> Students can gain holistic development in both academic knowledge and important virtues. Moreover, learning about global communities also enables children gain a better understanding of different cultures and helps them respect different points of view. Therefore, they can foster global citizen. I don’t know how to write 

In conclusion, although teaching children global news brings about some particular drawbacks, I still believe that the benefits are much greater due to students’ comprehensive development in academic knowledge and vital characters. With the support from teachers and proper school implement, these drawbacks can be effectively adressed.