Some schools teach school children to study international news. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been much controversy about whether incorporating international news into the school curriculum at some education centers (academies) brings benefits or drawbacks. From my point of view, I completely believe that adding news from all over the world to academic school is more advantageous.

On the one hand, bringing global news to the curriculum at some academies has tremendous benefits, however, several drawbacks should not be ignored. First, the entire global news is published and written by foreign languages. This demands students to be fluent in some foreign languages. But for some, learning a tongue is never an easy way for them. Therefore, using global news as a supplemental subject in the curriculum suffers from some language barriers. Second, with the massive amount of worldwide information, it is so difficult for both students and schools to filter which is the good or bad news. Many violence and even the killings in terrorism and wars around the world can cause excitement for children and from this violent ideas and abusive opinions, gradually form in their growing process. And this may surely pose negative impacts on students.

On the other hand, global news can bring significant benefits to students. To commence with, as I mentioned above, the whole international information is published by foreign languages. This is a drawback for some, however it is also a great opportunity for students who have passion to improve their foreign tongues. For example, I am a case in point, I have mutual fun and happiness between learning English and reading magazines or dailies. As a result, students who learn international news can have competence to cope with difficult situations. Another benefit that studying global news brings to students is exposing much to a variety of cultures and traditions from many nations over the world. This offers school children to expand their fascinating knowledge, horizons, and experiences. For instance, advances in technologies these days facilitate students with opportunities to find insights on some nations that they love discovering. Consequently, incorporating news from the four corners of the world supplies learners to explore a wide range of places around the world.

In conclusion, although bringing global news to curriculum has shortcomings and superiorities. I personally believe that this trend has more advantages in our contemporary digital era.