Too many children are spending most of their free time using screens instead of participating in physical exercise. Why is this a problem? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, too many children are spending their free time online instead of taking part in physical activity. This essay will discuss the main consequences of this type of leisure and offer some possible solutions.

First of all, the most significant issue faced by children who spend their spare time using screens is a risk of deterioration of physical and mental health. Lack of sports activities causes problems with vision, posture, and a general weakness of the child’s body. More and more people suffer from a poor sleep quality and decreased concentration. Research conducted in the USA has shown that the earlier a kid gets his first smartphone, the lower the level of his mental well-being and stability in adulthood. Such individuals have a much higher risk of developing anxiety, social withdrawal and aggression. Consequently, too many hours spent online without participating in physical exercise make the child’s psyche noticeably more vulnerable.

Turning to possible solutions, the risk of becoming addicted to gadgets may be reduced by certain actions. The most crucial step is to restrict the use of digital devices. Reducing screen time leads to a rapid stabilization of the emotional state, sleep duration, lower level of stress and anxiety. Freed up hours are highly likely to provoke an active lifestyle, as children no longer waste their leisure on video games or scrolling. Subsequently, parents should engage their young family members to exercise more and interact with other people face-to-face. Only by offering meaningful real-world alternatives can we successfully distract children from the digital world.

In conclusion, excessive internet use is a major problem in the contemporary era.Therefore, global society must make efforts to protect the younger generation from the influence of electronic gadgets. To avoid the harm, the use of smartphones should be limited in order to develop an interest among the young people in fitness.