TOPIC: Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays ís much better than it was in the past. Both view and give opinion?

Nowadays, one side believes that reaching old age is completely unfavorable, while another side argues that there are considerably more benefits of being old than it used to be in the past. The main aim of this essay is to discuss both views and make reasonable conclusion.

Firstly, what is the main disadvantage of being elderly is that you do not have that amount of energy that you used to have. While a person gets older, an organism becomes more and more vulnerable to diseases, because immune system becomes weaker. Consequently, it is considerably easier to catch a fever or sever diseases than it was in younger ages. For instance, the World Health Organization proved that people who reached their 60 may be more prone to die from COVID-19 and other illnesses. Secondly, elderly individuals cannot do an intensive physical activity for a long period of time. Having this fact, the variety of activities and hobbies is limited for them.

On the other hand, our technologies are developing every day, so elderly people may be provided with opportunity to compensate their physical weaknesses. Today, using contemporary medication and equipment, elders can extend their lifespan by 10-15 years, saving their quality of life. Moreover, the elderly population can relax properly after decades of demanding work. As a rule, hardly ever can people take a proper rest in working days, but pension is ideal time for relaxation. As an example, it was proved by surveys that people who have already retired say that they are significantly happier than before their retirement due to the fact that they have less stress and frustration because of their job.

Considering both sides, I personally agree that getting older has its own advantages, especially in modern ages, such as an improved healthcare and slow pace of life, which extend lifespan and reduce level of distress.