TOPIC: Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays ís much better than it was in the past. Both view and give opinion?

Some people argue that ageing in the modern world only has downsides, whilst others consider the elderly life today has improved when compared to the past. While there are merits in thinking that getting old is bad, we should also consider the quality of life the elderly nowadays enjoy that previous generations didn’t have.

Ageing is often associated with deteriorating health and the loss of accquitances. These elements affect both the elderly’s ability to actively enjoy life and their mental wellbeing. The loneliness from losing people they know and the inability to exercise as smoothly as their younger selves do impact their living standards greatly, creating a distaste for ageing. While they are free to do anything, there is a limit on what they can do – something that the youth don’t have to consider, denoting the elderly worsening condition. Moreover, because of generation gap, they are less likely to express themselves, isolating them with the majority of population. Even in Japan, where the average lifespan is the longest, along with great healthcare system catered to the old population, it is not rare to see old people passing away alone in their own homes without anyone knowing – a situation most people try to avoid.

Nonetheless, compared to the past, senior citizens’ current living standards have been improving. With advancement in technology, they can communicate more easily, connecting them with more people. Together with nursing homes, where they can meet people of the same age, their loneliness is alleviated. Policies regarding retirement and elder care also have had a noticeable effect on their lives: they have less financial stress and more free time, while the healthcare systems support their fight against old-age diseases. As the average human lifespan increases, so does their living condition: the present elderly live more healthily and have a tighter sense of community compared to just a few years ago.

These achievements stem from our active effort in allevating the downsides of ageing. As such, while acknowledging the problems of old age, we must also consider society’s effort in improving the elderly’s lives, and the fact that such effort has bear fruits and is benefitting society overall.