University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that majoring only in one subject is not enough and that universities ought to inspire their students to focus on other speciaities too. While there are a lot of benefits to study more subjects than one, I completely disagree with the viewpoint above because students should choose one path and follow it.

Focusing on one selected subject can be really beneficial for students due to the fact that they can become experts in their chosen sphere. This, in turn, is important in twenty first century according to the high demand in professionals in areas such as medicine, computer science, architecture and economy. By focusing on other subjects too, students can not completely unlock their potential. Moreover, the chances of overcoming others and becoming the best one will significantly decrease. The Chinese researches have shown, that to become better than 98 percent of people, you need to spend at least 1000 hours on your subject.

Furthermore, studying a different subjects at the same time can negatively affect students’ life because of a high pressure and an overwhelming amount of homework. Student’s life is already full of stress, majority of them have to work after lessons in order to pay for taxes or for their education. That is why, inspiring them to focus on other spheres too, is reduntant. Conversely, spending most of their time on one specific subject can be extremely productive due to the fact, that students focus on one thing.

In conclusion, majoring in only one particular subject has a lot of advantages for students mental health as well as for their achievements in selected sphere.