University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the youngsters studying in university allocate a significant amount of time on one subject, but some individuals believe that they should study other subjects as well as the specialist one. However, I oppose them since focusing on one discipline provides an opportunity to become a valuable specialist of a specific field and to gain more practical skills according to the major.

One primary reason for neglecting additional university lectures is a willingness of students to be the greatest specialist of their professional area. This is particularly because of a growing competitiveness in a working field due to the lack of job openings. For instance, there is a strong demand for software engineers all over the world, but only one fifth of them are capable of getting high-paid work based on having a wealth of specific knowledge in the IT sphere. Consequently, university students attempt to pay more attention to their major discipline in order to guarantee an outstanding job after graduation. Hence, by being concentrated on a particular subject in university years, young people manage to be recognised as the potential expert in a certain area.

Another thing worth mentioning is a capability to utilize theoretical materials given in the educational building in a practical way. The initial reason for university students choosing internships over learning extra disciplines is an enhancement of their curriculum vitae. To illustrate, nowadays, it is mandatory for university graduates who are aiming to work as a teacher to have at least experience of interacting with schoolers. Therefore, people studying educational disciplines are constantly in a search of trainee perspectives. As a result, having a vast array of internships will bring more benefits for students in comparison with an attending extra lectures in the university.

In conclusion, it seems to me that university students should concentrate on one specific discipline, whereas others oppose it saying that universities should encourage youngsters to study additional subjects. In this way, young individuals can get more advantageous practical skills and become the greatest expert of their area in the future. Hence, I am convinced that focusing only on a certain discipline according to thestudent’s major is the most proactive and suitable for modern working conditions