University students always focus on one specialist subject, but some people think universities should encourage their students to study a range of subjects in addition to their own subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that university students should learn a range of subjects, rather than specialising in just one field. This essay completely agrees with the former opinion for its potential is enhancing students’ employability and developing skills to aid them in solving problems in the future.

Incorporating a variety of subjects can equip students with additional skills that may become relevant for their future career, thereby raising their value in the job market. Courses in communication, business, or technology can complement the students main field of study, offering a more flexible set of skills, which are important for their job opportunities. This is because employers prefer candidates who are highly adaptable and informative in a range of fields. With these traits, the candidates are much likely to be fast at problem-solving, which is essential to come up with innovative ideas in distinct industries. For example, a student who specializes in biology and technology is very valuable because some medical companies require professionals with knowledge in both fields to come up with medicine.

Additionally, the skills developed by participating in many courses are not only useful in enhancing employability, but also in fostering creativity and flexibility to solve problems. Studying different courses forces students to look at a problem in different perspectives. By engaging and approaching these aspects, students are exposed and influenced to come up with solutions that are able to satisfy all their requirements. As a result, development in critical thinking, open-mindedness, and problem-solving are much more enhanced and reinforced due to frequent usage. This is very important in tackling issues that may arise in the future. For instance, students who want to open a restaurant are required to study business and culinary arts to ensure that they are capable of overcoming challenges that can threaten their success.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree with encouraging students to study a variety of courses because this can raise their value in the job market and equip them with skills that are relevant in addressing issues.