We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer-based technology. How do you think it will change in the future? Is it good for us to rely so much on computers?

There is no doubt that social media has made a significant change in how family and friends communicate with each other. In my view, the main reason for this is that social media is available to almost everyone and it can be used everywhere. I think it is a positive development.

To begin with, the first reason for this development that social media can be used by everyone and easy to use. This is because every individual has own smartphone and even computer. By these gadgets people can instantly connect to the network and communicate with their friends and family in very convenient way. Beside that we can make video calls and can talk face to face. The second reason is that we can use social media everywhere because it does not choose a place. If there is an internet connection everyone can use it. For instance, my aunt’s husband is working overseas. He can communicate with his family through the What’s app which is a platform used to make video calls.

In my opinion, the widespread of social media is a positive development because it can play a crucial role in our lives in the case of unusual events. For example, during the pandemic, all countries-imposed travel restrictions and lock-downs. Nonetheless, thanks to social media, people have been able to keep in touch with others and check in on their family and friends. While people were not able to leave their homes, they could talk to their loved ones even if they are abroad. This is a very beneficial and good side of social media.

In conclusion, social media has changed the way people communicate with others because it is convenient for everyone and allows people to virtually meet each other. In my opinion, I believe it is a positive development because it can mitigate the effects of hard times.