We are living a throwaway society and things are used in a shorten time and thrown away. What are the causes of this phenomenon and what problems might it causes?

Along with the advancement and enhancement in our ways of living, there are plenty of habits which humanity learns to adopt that are unfavorable for our society, one of them is the thrown-away lifestyle. There are multiple reasons that can be attributed to why this phenomenon exists as well as how this trend can negatively affect the surrounding that we live in.

Various explanations have been given to this matter by generations, all pointedly at the rapid development of technology. Specifically, manufacturers have turned to mass-producing their products at a cheap price with the help of advanced machines instead of creating long-lasting goods that require meticulous craftsmanship so as to boost sales and amplify revenues. These kinds of products, once released into the market with the extensive campaigns, would be known and purchased by a hoard of customers, however, since the quality of the said merchandises are not up to the standards, the owners would soon find them broken or malfunctioning, leading buyers to look for and purchase alternatives. Furthermore, commercials on social media or billboards are also parts of the problem as this is the most simple method to increase the public’s awareness of products that have long been used by large corporations. Excessive advertisements, as a result, would make the audience feel less content with what they already have, putting them into a dilemma of whether or not they should buy the newly launched, more appealing products.

This phenomenon has inarguably caused a lot of negative consequences on our society. Needless to say, the overconsumption lifestyle involves a great amount of money expenditure as individuals would constantly replace and upgrade their possessions every now and then. Over time, this spending habit will result damningly when they are met with sudden financial challenges and health issues, owning nothing priced but the latest products on the market. In addition, people’s emotional welfare would also be greatly affected when met with materialism. Those who have already adopted this lifestyle only find satisfaction in spending and obtaining modern goods so they might feel troubled once finding out they cannot afford for the things that they have set their eyes on, making it excruciatingly draining having to keep up with every new product.

In conclusion, the thrown-away lifestyle’s existence is mainly because of the rapidness of technology advancements, causing multiple financial and mental problems for those who chose to follow this way of living.