Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are many views on how people become successful, with the most popular being that success mostly happens because of serendipity. While the part luck plays in the pursuit of success is significant, I believe that it must be combined with hard work and perseverance. Therefore, luck alone cannot be the only factor in someone’s success story.

Luck plays an important role in the path to success in all aspects of life. For example, students who prepare for different exams desperately need an element of luck with exam-timing, examiners and sometimes even locations where the exam takes place. Another specific case in point would be Steve Jobs who was fortunate to have been in Silicon Valley during its formative years, surrounded by a network of talented individuals and innovative companies. The timing of his involvement in the tech industry during its rapid expansion could be considered lucky. Since both history and our day-to-day lives give us such endless examples, the role of luck cannot be overlooked regardless of the type of goals people have.

However, in my opinion, to accomplish goals individuals need more than luck. There is a very famous quote that goes, “Luck favors the prepared mind”, which explains the importance of preparation and the occurence of luck well. Steve Jobs did not become successful due to pure luck. Instead, he achieved his aims because he showed passion for technology and he was the epitomy of dedication towards what he was pursuing. Also, if sportsmen do not practice hard enough, they cannot become champions regardless of their talent, height, weight and background. In this sense, to have luck in the journey of success a certain amount of commitment is required.

In conclusion, one must possess an ability to work hard and show passion for what they do, which is likely to increase one’s odds of becoming lucky and then successful.