Whether or not someone achieves their aims is mostly by a question of luck. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Achieving a goal is a process that has multiple factors causing it to happen. While some argue that success is mostly determined by luck, I consider that while luck can play a role, it’s not the primary reason behind one’s success.

On the one hand, luck may play a significant role in gaining success. Sometimes an outer factors that are in an individual’s fate which can’t be controlled , such as being at the right place at the right time or just encountring a right person might open doors and provide oppurtinities. For instance, auther of Harry Potter novel series, J. K. Rowling faced dozens of rejections before finally getting her book published . However, it was a bit of luck when a small publishing company decided to give a try to her manuscript, which boosted her reputation and success .

Yet, hard work is the element that is more crucial in achieving a goal. Individuals who put effort and time in order to effectively develop their skills and knowledge are more likely to succeed than those who rely on luck. For example, Thomas Edison, genius physician, who said: “Success is one percent luck and ninety-nine percent hard work.” Despite facing several failures while trying to invent lightning, he didn’t give up. Thus, his decipline and hard work eventually led him to success. This can be one of the million examples that’s shows the importance of hard work.

In conclusion, considering these given factors, I totally believe that luck can play a role in one’s success yet, not the main reason.