With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the current age, whilst proponents hold the view that untapped areas that contain oil and gas resources should be discovered, opponents and I argue otherwise. Thus, I am a staunch believer that these limited resources should be left unexplored and look for other green sources.

To embark on, energy companies must focus on using resources that will keep our ecosystem undamaged. In other words, if these companies search for non-renewable resources, this will lead to potential environmental damage. For example, the Deep-Water Horizon Disaster has caused a detrimental effect on marine life in the area. Hence, what can be said is that damaging these untouched areas wreaks havoc on our ecosystem, and oil companies should be banned from launching business there.

In addition, implementing this initiative is pointless as plenty of alternative energy resources are available. This means that if industries were given enough funding, solar, wind, and tidal energy, it will replace our dependence on oil and gas within a short time span. A prominent example of this is what the CEO of SolarCity and Tesla, Elon Mask, affirmed when he demonstrated this by drawing a small square on the map of the United States and stating that this tiny area can power the whole country if it is covered with solar stations. Therefore, not only does the use of solar energy reduce the need for oil, but it could also be utilized to manufacture electric cars rather than gas-powered ones, which may lessen fuel consumption.

In conclusion, after the essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that new oil locations should not be discovered, and other sustainable energy sources should be used. Therefore, I am convinced that sensitive areas should not be available for fossil fuel companies.