With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that untouched lands must be investigated because of the increasing necessity for energy sources worldwide. This essay totally disagrees with this statement. I believe that exploring new areas in order to gain access to oil and gas can have detrimental impacts on the environment and cause increased dependency on fossil fuels.

Exploring new territories for fossil-fuel-gaining purposes can significantly worsen the biodiversity of the Earth. Aspiring to acquire temporary power resources, a vast landscape must be destroyed, chopping down hectares of wood and releasing hazardous gas emissions into the atmosphere. Furthermore, it may cause other catastrophic issues, such as global warming, by depriving the Earth of remaining trees and increasing air pollution. For example, statistics provided by Nazarbayev University show that excessive land exploitation between 1970 and 1996 worsened Kazakhstan’s climate by 35% by degrading air quality and causing the extinction of local species of fauna and flora.

Having exploited fossil fuels from undeveloped areas, citizens may increase their dependency by trying to accomplish urgent necessities. Not only does the exploration of new lands make people eager to consume more each year, but it also may lead to a neglectful approach toward the environment. Instead of inventing and implementing eco-friendly sustainable energy, humans generally rush to find a temporary solution. For instance, a study conducted by the World Wildlife Fund proves that the opening of new gas and oil fields is increasing, with a figure rising by about 9% each year, and causing the neglect of alternative power sources.

In conclusion, though the demand for traditional energy resources is growing, it must not be the reason to exploit undeveloped areas, as this can become a root cause of disaster for nature and humanity’s reliance only on these sources.