Write about the following topic: International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

While international tourism has led to an increase in the economy of many locations, there has been a disturbance to the local inhabitants and environment regarding traffic and crowded areas. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the benefits are greater than the disadvantages.

By attracting more people to the country, the economy of the country increases due to tourism. This will provide more funds to invest in developing the country to help its citizens. A second point in favor involves granting the tourists and citizens new activities and landmarks to enjoy. In Saudi Arabia, for example, there are many developing tourist attractions such as: Six Flags theme park, Al Masmak Museum and Al Ula. An important benefit is that tourism in many places has supported a vast number of jobs including: travel agent, hotel staff and workers at tourist attractions.

During the periods of tourism, the local inhabitants and environment have been affected by the heavy traffic. However, this can be solved by making public transportation lead to the attractions. Another concern is that people are finding it difficult to navigate through the crowded areas, which can be worked out by limiting the amount of people in certain areas. The environment of many places can be damaged due to the number of tourists visiting. This happens because of the higher number of planes flying and cars driving, which leads to higher carbon monoxide production. Although, the solution for this is decreasing the number of flights each day.

As time goes on, the number of tourists increases and countries need new ways to anticipate this. Even though there are downsides to this trend, I believe they are outweighed by the advantages to both the country and citizens.