WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The number of people that are affected by stress is increasing at an alarming rate, this is a serious and dangerous fenomenon. Stress and stress related health affection are potentially deadly, and as a society we must stop it before it’s to late.

The main cause of stress is work related. According to the latest findings in work psychology, work-related stress is the main cause of depression in adults. This specific kind of stress has different manifestations, each one whit specific sympthoms. For instance Burnout, as is name suggest, refer to the extreme exhaustion and inhability to be productive at work, depression and anxiety sympthoms are the first signs of it, and the main causes are excessive workload and precarious work conditions. Burnout is leading cause of suicide.

The solutions are clear, we must solve the root problem, we must pressure both politicians and company owners to improve working conditions, this would not only reduce the suicide rate worldwide, but also the “stress epidemic”.

Finally, we need to remember that the working class is the most affected one, and acting as a collective is the best way to achieve a real, stable and permanent change.