You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

University became a major milestone in the life of younger generations. They offer a diverse range of subjects starting from engineering and ending with liberal arts. After the graduation, the paths of former classmates diverge. Some of them find a lucrative job offer in a short period of time while others struggle even to get an interview as the unemployment in their field is high. These findings lead us to rethink the sense of higher education. On one side, there are proponents of the idea, that students should be restricted in their choice of subjects according to their perspective after graduation. On the contrary, opponents state that students should have the freedom to find the university program according to their needs and preferences. I will evaluate both the pros and cons and infer a proper conclusion from my arguments.

On one hand, universities must be responsible for the proper distribution of young professionals in the labor market. If there is a shortage of engineering workers who can draw the drafts, then institutions must offer more STEM subjects in undergraduate programs. For instance, the surging demand for IT professionals and their soaring salaries led to increased interest in choosing computer science as a major, and consequently, the number of students applying for liberal programs declined.

On the other hand, not all students are opting to study stem subjects. If they are forced to study only engineering or computer science then a majority of them will fail their first exam session. A large number of people will be excluded from higher education and therefore will be on the rand of society. Therefore they should have access to programs, that are more suitable for them. Great achievements are discovered in all fields of study and shrinking the scope of subjects will lead to diminish of bright minds in society.

Summarising all the arguments above, I will state that student must not be restricted in their free choice of subjects. Moreover, they should be evaluated in their schools by their grades, interests, and hobbies before applying to universities. They could get a better assessment of them and make on their basis a wiser decision for their future.