You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Every living being residing on the earth deserves equal life and liberty. While, humans are relishing technological advancements, and enhancing their quality of life, the extinction rate of animals is significantly increasing. This essay will delve into some possible reasons behind this trend, followed by some considerable measures to alleviate this problem.

The first reason for possessing risk on some creatures is rooted in deforestation. To meet the huge demand for housing in big cities, more and more trees are being cut, destroying the habitat of thousands of wild animals. As a result, these become more vulnerable to death. Secondly, the proliferation of plastic products has detrimental effects on marine life. Plastic wastage produced from residential and commercial properties finds its way to waterbodies – rivers, oceans, and so on, causing water pollution, which leads to adverse effects on aquatic animals. Additionally, these plastic products when consumed by fish can affect the food chain, consequently, notably impacting land animals, and accelerating the number of deaths of endangered species.

However, certain measures can be undertaken to preserve the biodiversity. The government can proactively implement a ban on plastic products like plastic bags, and an effective alternative can be introduced to diminish this non-disposable material. Moreover, the public can also be encouraged to recycle and reuse. This way piles of plastic garbage can be avoided, generated because people are heavily dependent on these non-degradable elements. The government can also grant funding to natural conservational companies that play a crucial role in saving species encountering life-threatening problems due to pollution or technology.

To conclude, although many animal species are dying substantially due to pollution, exploitation of their habitat, and many other factors, it can still be controlled with suitable government policies and public awareness.