You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Few fauna species are almost extinct and many others are in grave danger of extinction. Factors like deforestation and hunting contribute to the decline in population of certain animal species.

According to the global census, human population has seen significant growth in the past few decades. To support this increase, forests are cleared and resources from nature are exploited. These forests are home to various different types of animals and provide food and shelter to them. The destruction of their habitat leads to a decline in their numbers since their cover and food source is depleted. Hunting also plays a key role in the extinction of animal species because rarer animals are highly sought after. Various items such as their skin and horns are sold in black markets all over the world for hefty prices. For example, in Sub-Saharan countries and Africa there is a thriving market for items made up of ivory, which comes from the tusks of elephants. This leads to hunters poaching wild elephants for their tusks, which causes a decline in the elephant population and will lead to their extinction.

We must work together to find a solution to this pressing global issue. Governments of various countries have tried to control the extinction of various species by constructing natural parks and wildlife sanctuaries. Furthermore, programs have been introduced to protect specific animals from this threat. An example of such a program is the one conducted by the Indian government to protect the Bengal tiger and Arunachal Pradesh’s mithun. Governments around the world have also implemented strict penalties for poaching. We as a community must come together to spread awareness regarding deforestation, and each person can help out by planting as many trees as they can. The community could also report hunters and ensure severe action is taken against them.

In conclusion, man must learn to coexist with their animal counterparts and try to restore nature’s balance. Only then will animals stop going extinct.