You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

University life may pose difficult challenges for students. Therefore, having support from family and friends can help students navigating their campus life. However, when it comes to the issue of whether to live with family or away from home during university, I believe the benefits of the latter outweigh the former. In this essay, I will present my arguments on the advantage of living away from family during college years.

The first and obvious reason is that it trains the students to be independent. It means that they begin to take the responsibility for themselves. By that time, they are already adult, so it is crucial for them to train for the bearing of risk and responsibility. Simple examples, such as getting up early, preparing the meal, or doing the laundry can transform them from a teenager to responsible adults. Even though, they may make mistakes along their journey in the house, it may benefit them to learn their lesson through their errors. This may not be the case of they still live with their parents and everything is under parental consent.

The second reason why living away from home during college year is the appreciation for the family. Students living with their family often take for granted the love and support of their parents. Only by living alone, when they longer enjoy the parental love and care, can they really value their family. This will instil an attitude of gratitude and appreciation in students that will transform their immaturity – something that they may not realize when still under the wings of their parents.

To conclude, I believe that living away from home during university is a noble endeavour. It advantages the students two ways: firstly, it trains them to be an independent and mature individuals, and secondly, it teaches them to be grateful and appreciative of their parental nature all this time