You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Throughout the last 100 years, more and more species have become at risk or wiped out completely. The causes of this one are largely related to human activity. Therefore, the solutions rely on us taking action and changing our behavior. This essay will look at the main reasons for the loss of wildlife and propose some possible ways of resolving them.

One big cause of animal extinction is the destruction of animals’ habitats by humans for commercial reasons. For example, the deforestation of the Amazon rainforest to make way for agricultural land leaves many animals without a home. A possible solution could be for the governments to pass laws. These laws could restrict the amount of forest that a country could cut down in a year and punish companies that do not follow them. For example, if a company were to chop down a large amount of rainforest, the government could fine them a large sum of money or even send them to prison.

On the other hand, there are also many counterarguments to using animals. First of all, there are many who argue that a balanced diet can be achieved through veganism. For instance, protein can be sourced from non-meat products such as lentils and nuts. This means that one can stay healthy and illness-free without the need for killing animals. Moreover, many animal rights activists argue that animals have feelings just like people do. From this viewpoint, keeping an animal in a cage is the same as keeping a human in a cage.

In conclusion, more and more wildlife are being threatened by human activity and it is up to humans to solve the problem. The destruction of animals’ habitats and the pollution of the oceans are the main factors in this problem. To solve it, we will need to place restrictions on harmful activities like deforestation and invest more money in conservation projects.