You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Following is the answer, please mark it based on ielts scoring criterion. – It is now a known fact that several animal species have faced extinction and many others remain threatened. This is an unfortunate consequence of the human race’s uninformed choices, greed, and selfishness.

One, amongst the many reasons for the extinction of animals, is the high level of pollution that industrialisation and globalisation has been causing. Huge amounts of waste products are dumped into the water bodies that are later ingested by the organisms in the water, often threatening their survival. Second, human greed has led the man to engage in an increased amount of hunting and poaching which disrupts the natural food chain and the ecosystem these animals live in. Third, there is an absolute lack of awareness in the society of the about causes and consequence of animal extinction and, therefore, no one individual feels responsible for this phenomenon.

Several measures can be put into place to address this issue. First, the government needs to invest resources into protecting the water bodies. This can be done by forming new policies that strictly regulate the industries responsible for water pollution and by harshly penalising the one’s that do not meet the current standards. Second, new laws are required to limit the activity of hunting and regulate the use of hunted animals. Third, awareness campaigns need to be launched at the school level to educate the young generation on the causes as well as dangerous consequences of animal extinction. This will ensure that children grow up to be responsible and aware adults of the society.

In conclusion, the extinction of some of the animal species is a warning sign for the society that we are heading in the wrong direction and that significant changes need to be made on both an individual and societal level to stop this from further advancing to an unrepairable level.