You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The internet is surely a tool which people can use to find very useful information and share their knowledge, but it is also full of dangerous content that not everybody wants to look at. Many believe that it is the role of the government to control what type of things people can find on the internet, but I say that censorship is not the correct way to go.

Firstly, one important thing to say is that the internet is a free place where everyone can look for whatever information they want and ignore the content that they do not want to see. Harmful information does not always show up unexpectedly and, when it does, a person can just close the page and look for something else. It is fair to say that probably younger kids do not know how to distinguish positive and negative content and this often leads them into scams or worse. However, in these cases, it is the role of the parents to teach them how to navigate correctly the internet.

Moreover, the government has no right to decide what people can and cannot search on the web. Freedom of citizens is at the base of a democratic country. For instance, a place where politicians censor articles or other internet content has reduced press freedom. When this happens, history teaches that it might indicate the start of a tiranny, in which people’s rights tend not to be considered by the government.

In conclusion, an inconsiderate use of the internet should not be something anyone should make because of its dangers. However, it is not much the role of the government rather than the people themselves to pay attention and ignore damaging content.